Changes in Georgia’s 2018 home schedule

share on:

By Joe Vitale:

The University of Georgia Athletic Department announced a change in the 2018 home schedule.

The Austin Peay Governors will visit Athens for the Dawgs’ 2018 season opener on September 1. The FCS Governors, who were 0-11 in 2016, replace Murray State and will be one of four Tennessee teams playing Between the Hedges in 2018. Georgia will have seven home games, including four non-conference contests (Middle Tennessee State, September 15; UMass, November 17; Georgia Tech, November 24) and three SEC games (Tennessee, Vanderbilt, Auburn).

In the release, head coach Kirby Smart stated, “Having seven home games will be great for our team, community, and fans. A mix of outstanding conference teams, a traditional rival, and out of conference teams we seldom play will make for an attractive season schedule.”

Georgia and Murray State have tentatively agreed to move the game to either August 31 or September 7, 2019. Moving the game became necessary after the Bulldogs scheduled Middle Tennessee State on the same date the Racers were to play Georgia in Athens. Georgia will pay Murray State $550,000 for the 2019 trip to Athens.


Facebook Comments

Leave a Response